top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmaya Karawgoda

A discovery of witches – Deborah Harkness

Hey all! It has been a while since my last review because I have not been able to read for a long time. Last month, I got my Big Bad Wolf order and I could not help but dive into some of my new purchases. My first choice from the lot was “A discovery of witches” by Deborah Harkness. Honestly, the reason I bought this book is because I watched the TV series based on it and absolutely loved it! Something I did not know is that it was a trilogy named “All souls”. I have only read the first book and I thought it was worth a share.



The book starts with the discovery of an ancient book that has been lost for centuries by Dr. Diana Bishop, who is on a research trip to England. This discovery attracts all the creatures (witches, vampires, and demons) to Diana who wants the book for themselves. One thing to know about Diana is that she is a descendant of a powerful line of witches, but was not willing to accept her lineage and tries to live as a normal human. Needless to say, it is ironic that this ancient book came into her hands!


Then comes the interesting part… the male lead. A 1,500 years old vampire named Matthew Clairemont takes interest in Diana like every other creature (Who doesn’t love a charming vampire!?). Little did they know about the struggles waiting for them in the future. The story goes on to tell the tragedies in Diana’s past and what the future holds for her, and of course, the complicated relationship unwinding between the two main leads.


I love fantasy and fiction, but this book felt deeper to me. It describes the connection between supernatural creatures on a scientific basis, which actually made sense (at least to me!). Deborah Harkness is a historian herself. So needless to say she nailed the historic details about Matthew’s past.


There was a line in one of the book reviews that caught my eye; “There’s far more magic in an old book than in an iPad, no matter how good its backlighting is”. I cannot agree more on this. I have read many reviews and not every review is positive, but in my opinion, books should carry us to places that are more interesting than reality. This book definitely did that for me. I am counting fingers until I am able to go to a bookstore and get my hands on the second and third books of this trilogy. Another exciting news is that the second season of the series is coming out in January 2021! Upcoming months are going to be extremely busy for this bookaholic!


Hoping to see you guys soon with another book adventure. Adios!

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page