top of page
  • Contributor

Inferno: Dan Brown

Updated: Aug 6, 2019


Hello bookworms! If you are struggling to find an interesting book to bury your nose into, we have some great suggestions.


This month is about population, because the world population day falls on the 11th of July. Guess what popped into my mind as soon as I heard ‘population’? Inferno. That's right. Inferno by Dan Brown.


Inferno deals with one of the main current issues in the world, overpopulation. This might sound boring and serious, but I assure you the storyline is so exciting, I almost burned my eyes out trying to read it in one go!


This book stars the Dan Brown’s ever famous (and my favorite) character, Robert Langdon. It is inspired by Dante Alighieri’s “divine comedy”. Unlike Brown’s previous work, Inferno does not revolve around divine comedy, but rather is based on a modern threat weaved around it.


Langdon faces Bertrand Zobrist, a crazy genius whom in my opinion, is his greatest enemy yet. Zobrist fears that the increasing population may lead the mankind towards destruction and decides to take the matters into his own hands (hey Zobrist, bad idea). So, Langdon and his partner Sienna Brooks run around Venice and Middle East trying to prevent a “major” disaster.


I’m going to stop right here, in case I give out some huge spoilers.


Anyway, Inferno perfectly merges history, literature, art and mystery to create an astounding story which will surely keep you on your toes.


And for my movie-loving-friends, you are in luck! Inferno has been made in to movie too and is available for everyone to enjoy (though with slight differences in the storyline)

I hope this article helped you to decide on your next book adventure. Until next month!


Amaya Karawgoda

EBH 2022

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page