top of page
  • Farah Jaffar

Stepsister by Jennifer Donnelly



When I perused the pages, my heart stopped in so many places; tears filled my eyes as the words touched my heart. How can a fairy tale story bring about so many emotions and teach so many lessons? Every page captured my attention. It was so hard to turn myself away from this heartwarming story. Every scene was perfectly described and caught my attention.


This book is about Cinderella’s stepsister, Isabelle. She tries to fit in, craves to be pretty, and wants to live up to her mother's expectations. In doing so, she cuts off her toes to fit into Cinderella’s shoe. Given a chance, she seizes it and is now locked in a battle of wills intertwined with fate and destiny. Chance dictates that Isabelle’ can become a hero yet Fate is sure she will die selfishly. As we read, we learn that only Isabelle herself can change her fate.


Following her journey towards empowerment, redemption, and a new definition of beauty; Beauty is pain, but it doesn’t have to be so painful as the beauty of the heart matters more than any outward appearance.


A ‘Stepsister’ Poem:


It's the last day of my life; I feel the soul ripping out of my body like a sharp cutting-edge knife I see the blackness taking over me But I was still perceived to hear faint screams around me Screeching for me to hold on, to be awake But it's too late

Everything seems to fade Now, my body is ready to be in grave ‘That body’ I thought was beautiful is all a waste Beauty was a pain but it wasn’t worth the whine I never had the moment to love myself And now it's all too late but to be buried all alone”


Review & Poem Written by Farah Jaffar



“They were not pretty, these women. Pretty did not begin to describe them. They were Shrewd, Powerful, Wily, Proud, and Dangerous.”

They were strong.

They were brave.

They were beautiful.


~ Jennifer Donnelly




Review & Poem Written by Farah Jaffar

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page