top of page
  • Contributor

The hunger games: Suzanne Collins

Hello, bookworms! Welcome back after a long break. This month’s theme is all about books. So I thought I will discuss about the book trilogy that got me hooked on fictional stories. The series is composed of three books, The hunger games, Catching fire and Mockingjay. The author, Suzanne Collins creates a whole new world, but unlike the usual stories, this world does not have magic wands, vampire-werewolf fights or unicorns.


The story takes the reader to a world created after a horrible disaster in the dark days… a world where 12 districts are controlled by a central establishment called the “Panem”. All these districts have a specialty that benefits the capitol Panem such as fishery, agriculture and coal mining.


The hunger games is an annual event that is organized by the capitol rulers to amuse the citizens as well as to show its dominance over the districts. Each district must send a male and female participant aged 12 to 18, called “tributes”, to participate in this event where they are put together into an arena. These 24 tributes must survive and battle to death until one lone victor remains. Having a victor is considered as a huge benefit to the district since that will gain the district extra food and more luxuries.


So the basic story goes on this way. Let’s move on to the best part… the main character! Katniss Everdeen, a 16-year-old girl from district 12 fighting for the survival of her family following her father’s death. No, she is not chosen as a tribute but her little sister Prim, the one Katniss loves above all, is! Katniss, like the loving big sister she is, volunteers to take Prim’s place. Katniss is a good hunter, as she has been the one to provide for her family for some time. But the real trouble begins when the male tribute is chosen… Peeta Mellark, the baker’s son whom she owes a favor because of the kindness he has shown at a desperate moment in her life.


So the perk of being a talented hunter – She actually has a chance at winning! Drawback of her victory– Peeta will have to die… The story goes on to explain her experience throughout the games and the romantic tension between Peeta and Katniss. The second (my personal favourite book of the trilogy!) and third books are unique setups of the games narrated by Katniss. The book holds some amount of darkness, violence and very strong emotions so get ready for an emotionally fulfilling ride!


The story did not hold much appeal to me when my friend recommended it to me… She actually pushed the book in to my hand and forced me to read. I still remember how I had to read the first page for about 5 times because I could not keep on going further.

But once I reached the end of the first chapter I was completely hooked! Katniss is a fighter and her life story fascinated me. My mind was so deep in this book that the pages flew by. I begged my friend (the same one who pushed me to read this) to give me the second book as soon as possible because I could not wait to continue. The hunger games is one of the most memorable books that I have read. I can still remember the story so well even though it has been over 6 years since I read the trilogy.


Like all good stories, this also has its own movie. I always believe when a book is being made into a movie the plot should not deviate much from the book. The director of Hunger games perfected most of the scenes to be pretty much as same as the book. So don’t forget to check that out as well!



That’s all for now. Hope you all would take my word and read this amazing trilogy. Until the next book…“May the odds be ever in your favor!”

Happy reading all!

Amaya Karawgoda

EBH 2022

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page