top of page
  • Writer's pictureFattah Jaffar

A Hit for the Win! - 2021/22 Inter-house Carrom Tournament




On January 8th, 2022 at the SIST rooftop, the annual carrom tournament, organized by the Sports Avenue of the Spectrum Students’ Society, took place. The talented students of SIST showcased their abilities while meeting new friends at yet another outstanding event.


Claiming victory for the crown amongst the competitive battle between my fellow colleagues was an ultimate surprise. Let me share a glimpse of my experience of becoming a carom tournament champion with my partner and for my house (Avery).


A splendid day for SIST, on holding an outstanding carom tournament. Carrom is a lovely game that will help you enhance your response time and social abilities. I hadn't played carrom in almost a year, so I arrived early at SIST and began practicing my shots, but everything was off my aim, and my precision wasn't what it used to be. As a way of improving myself for the tournament, I sat down and practiced even harder till I reached my goal. I used to be really good; there is a saying that, “The harder you work for something, the greater you will feel when you achieve it”. Although it was a surprising victory, I was a little apprehensive this morning when I got to know that one of my teammates would not be able to attend. I was helpless, and all I had was my house to rely on. Our house captain, Aafrin Muaazah, introduced me to a new partner, Sunmathie Jeyaraj, whom I had never met before. He had no prior experience with playing carom as well. Before the games kicked off, we had a small discussion, and sooner than you know, we were on the table, ready to begin the game! At first, we got off to a horrible start, but as the game went on, Jeyaraj and I began to connect, and that's when our chemistry blossomed. Although Jeyaraj had no experience with the game, I came to realize how much of an exceptional player he really was; he had a way of strategic thinking that helped us in our tough situations. Every game was a competitive one for Jeyaraj and I and every game we went through soared at a unique pace that trembled the opponents. Jeyaraj was all about winning which made our trust in each other grow stronger. He instructed me on what to do, and I began to have fate till the very end of the first game, which led us to a narrow win. We began practicing following our fantastic game, and we went on to win every game after that.


I appreciate all the students who came forward to play without any experience. I hope they secure a winning position in next year’s tournament. I thought it was impossible at first but all I could say is to never give up and to play with great sportsmanship no matter the competitiveness of the game. Most importantly, have fun!

A big thanks to all those who organized the event and for making my day. I had a great time. My partner, Jeyaraj and I have surely made our house proud!







83 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page