top of page
  • Writer's pictureSewmini Lanka De Silva

I Can Now Call Myself A Blood Donor - 2021/22 SIST's Blood Donation Campaign




The annual blood donation campaign of 2021/22, organized by the Community Service Avenue of the Spectrum Students’ Society, took place on the 19th of January 2022 at the National Blood Bank, Narahenpita.


What I am about to share with you is very special. It's an account of my encounter and opportunity in donating blood and becoming a hero to many that will lay so personally in my heart. I consider it an unforgettable experience.





I have always wanted to donate blood ever since I was schooling, but I never got the chance to due to my parents', especially my dad’s, hesitancy. Although my dad didn’t want me to donate blood at that time, he changed his mind now that I’m much older. I learned about this project from my dear friend, Hiruni Shamika, the director of the SSS Community Service Avenue. It is because of her and the rest of the SSS community who organized this campaign, that allowed me to take this step toward donating blood. Hiruni asked me whether I would like to participate in this campaign as a donor. I gladly said yes as I couldn’t stand a chance to miss this opportunity. After hearing about when, where and at what time the campaign will precisely commence, I couldn’t help but start counting down the days until it took place.


On the day of the campaign, I woke up excited with goosebumps running down my body. Although I was nervous, I knew that at heart, what I was about to do was a life-long dream and personal goal. As soon as I entered the bank, nervousness hit me like a gust of wind. I ignored it and walked in with a smile on my face. There was a procedure that every blood donor, first-timer or not, had to follow. It required filling out some forms, a consultation with the doctor, and monitoring the donors' hemoglobin levels before donating blood. After finishing all those procedures, I was sent to the blood donating room with the others and had to wait a couple more minutes. Once it was my time to donate, a nurse called for me and laid me down on the bed while handing me a stress ball. She comforted me throughout the procedure. I knew at that moment that I had done it; I had fulfilled my goal! After donating, I was a little dizzy but was back to normal in a couple of minutes. The SSS board ensured that I took some food and a milk packet to help me regain energy. They made sure to check up on everyone, observing them after donating to see if they were okay or not. Gladly, the campaign ended off with a great note!


I would like to thank all the amazing people who were involved in putting together such a life-changing, brilliant project which made my dream come true.

It was indeed one of the best and most memorable days of my life.

I can now call myself a blood donor!











50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page