top of page
  • Writer's pictureEsther Swamidason

MY 2020 HIGHLIGHT

Updated: Feb 12, 2021

For many, 2020 was an uneventful year but it was the year I reached an important milestone of possibly saving three lives for the first time in my life. I am about to spill the details in case you missed out on it and to potentially convince you to be one of the heroes and heroines of the next year’s campaign.


The event opened at 9 am on the 9th of February 2020. I had breakfast and was well hydrated. Since this was my first time, my nerves were kicking in. I was seated in the lobby with a cycle of thoughts. Will I go unconscious? Am I eligible to donate? I was feeling my blood pressure rising. Maybe that’s a good thing I thought because it could help with quickening the flow of blood haha. I checked my weight, filled out a few forms with my information and met a doctor to inquire about my eligibility to donate.


Next, there was a hemoglobin test done. I had heard that this test hurt more than the actual process of donation but let me debunk this for you, it was quick and simple that it requires no worrying. Then, I was ushered into a back room with a line of hospital beds. I was made to lie down with a stress ball in my palm. I have to be honest, I was very nervous at this point but I’m thankful to the kind nurses and comforting friends cracking jokes and taking pictures around me. They swabbed near the folding of my left arm and pricked the needle. Did I hear you asking me to describe the intensity of the pain? I’ll give it a 2.5 out of 10. If you have gotten through period cramps or body waxing like it’s a piece of cake, you’ll probably say it didn’t hurt at all.


The entire process of retrieving blood took less than 10 minutes. I was made to lie in bed a little longer because it was my first time. Once I left the room, I was showered with yummy pastries and flavoured milk. By the time I was done, more people showed up and it was a house full. Did I feel discomfort or nauseous after the process? Not at all. I went back home and treated myself to a bowl of grapes followed by a heavenly nap.


Why was this day important to me? As a child I grew up wanting to be in the profession of “saving lives”, a doctor. I have since then come to the realization that you don’t need to be a doctor to save lives. We are given many opportunities such as this event and other charitable activities to do so. Not everyone is healthy enough to take this opportunity of donating blood and I consider it a blessing that I am a healthy woman who is able to share my life with three others. If you fit the requirements to donate blood, please do not let this given chance go to waste. Work your purpose on Earth and use your lifetime of health to better someone else’s.


Here is a message to the organizers, Vice president Randila Withanarachchi and Director Amaya Karawgoda, of the Community service wing. It was February, a month of stressful studying, cramming multiple assignments and facing exams. Amidst it all, your hard work and commitment put into making this event happen has potentially saved so many lives and also added a little momentum and spirit to my locked-down 2020. So a big thank you to you!


Esther Swamidason

EBH 2022


Editor's note: Come join us on the 18th of February, for the 2021 donation campaign to be held at the National Blood Bank of Sri Lanka, situated in Colombo 5.

"Donate your blood and make a difference."



79 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page